Me no Tarzan, Me Boy!

> I spent the week in the nearby city of Turrialba in a hotel (mostly laying in bed working thru severe constipation .)I know ,TMI ..so I’ll spare you the details. except to say Psyllium is what saved me.
> Now I am back at the country house for the weekend. While in the city a friend sent me this quote.
>
> “But that’s the glory of foreign travel, as far as I am concerned. I don’t want to know what people are talking about. I can’t think of anything that excites a greater sense of childlike wonder than to be in a country where you are ignorant of almost everything. Suddenly you are five years old again. You can’t read anything, you have only the most rudimentary sense of how things work, you can’t even reliably cross a street without endangering your life. Your whole existence becomes a series of interesting guesses.” ― Bill Bryson, Neither Here Nor There: Travels in Europe
>
> Now I like that because that’s just how I felt these past few days. Just when I thought I could talk at a Tarzan level I realised that Me no Tarzan Me boy! I can imagine what it would be like if Boy (son of Tarzan) were dropped off in a man made city.
> For example the traffic still is still amazing me.I finally realised why it is so dangerous to cross the street. There are only 2 stoplights in all of Turrialba. In all of the other intersections you will notice the word ALTO painted on the pavement.This (like double yellow lines) is merely a suggestion to the Tico’s In addition there are many one way streets but then they will sneak a two way street in on you, and of course there are no signs, only some arrows on the pavement here and there. I watched a cowboy,his chest bared through an open shirt and wearing a white hat, trotting on his horse down the street as I was starting to cross. The horse failed to read the word ALTO on the pavement and ran right thru the intersection and came charging directly at me. I jumped backwards and noticed cowboyman appeared fearful and anxious as he leaned back in the saddle and assumed a death grip on the reins.The horse ran down the hill at a high rate of speed with cowboy man bouncing up and down violently and I wished I had my camera.
> I have instituted a new policy for crossing the street. I now wait for the Tico’s to step out first. Then I run out, careful to get on the opposite side of the Tico to the traffic. This way the Tico takes the hit first, buying me time to leap out of the way and acting as a cushion in a worst case scenario. Now you may think this is a rascist policy but to me it’s survivalism 101. The locals are experienced at crossing the street and I am the guest, a mere sojourner who needs to be protected .
>
> I was wearing a shirt with my daughters old soccer team insignia on it which read TEAM AMERICA REGIONAL CHAMPIONS and had an eagle with a soccer ball on it. I got lots of stares and began to think maybe it was offensive.Maybe they are thinking …America champion futbal? No No Senor… Costa Rica champion! Perhaps I will stop wearing it.
> I found a number of restaurants and met a bunch of English speaking people yesterday.Two girls from the Netherlands tested cocoa beans with me for the first time at a festival type event in the central park which featured exotic tropical fruits.Just so you know chocolate comes from this plant and when they bust it open to get the seeds it looks just like the creature in the movie ALIEN. In the evening I had a filet minon steak at a classy restaurant with Bill and his girlfriend. The steak was $6 by itself. I paid a bit more for rice and salad. The cuts of steak here are very thin and it was absolutely delicious with a marinated dark sauce, A very emotional and excellent singer, sang to us and played guitar as we ate. I find myself enjoying the music of Costa Rica by the way. It comes from their hearts. I think I could love these people.All in all I like Costa Rica. I am relaxing more and I think I have found my mojo.
>
> Martin
>
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >

One thought on “Me no Tarzan, Me Boy!

Leave a Reply

