Random observations…

> Some random observations,
>
>
> Most of the females here look exactly 18….
>
> I saw one attractive middle age women who flirted with me.
> I believe this because she smiled a lot, spent a few minutes showing me where I could find cream, and ate a banana in front of me.
>
>
> The sidewalks are uneven in the city and you may stub your toe and slit open your toenail…
>
> Banks are like fortresses but pharmacies are wide open…
>
> Atm machines tend to have lines all the time…
>
> People say hello when passing unlike in Northern Va…
>
> Many police walk instead of drive…
>
> In the country town the cop car broke down and no one had any money to fix it so the cops couldn’t go anywhere for a few weeks…
>
>
> Country people walk around wearing machetes so I started to also…
>
> Young women walk around alone at night in the city…
>
> People walk on side of road fearlessly without sidewalks day or night…
>
> Pray for the stray dogs…
>
> The natural scenery is extremely exotic and beautiful…
>
> There is much fruit on the trees in the jungle all year round…
>
> Constipation is bad…
>
> Everything made of plastic or metal, or imported, is expensive but the basics are very cheap…
>
>
> People do laundry by hand here…
>
> Country houses have no addresses or mail delivery…
>
>
> There are no trash collectors in the countryside, your yard is your own dump,This is good for the environment except the open burning part..

> There are black grasshoppers of unusual size here…
>
> Do not touch fuzzy caterpillars
>
> Some frogs are red. Do not touch them either, You might hallucinate…
>
>
> The birds are extremely pretty…
>
> Blonde women are still hot…
>
> I am not a sex pig…
>
> The men here are not fat…
>
> Anyone can sell anything on the sidewalk or side of road…
>
> There are no stoned wheat thins in all of Costa Rica…
>
> There are no prostitutes in Turrialba ( not that I am looking.)…
>
> The food is pretty good here and inexpensive…
>
> Termites are a common problem in Costa Rica but Miguel the handyman can kill them with non EPA approved poisons and replace the boards they eat.
>
> This will only shorten your lifespan by about 4 years…

There is a smart meter on my house…

Take off a couple more years of lifespan…
> ..
> Nothing happens quickly here…
>
> Costa Ricans do seem happy…
>
> All the buildings are open to outside air and the bank is the only building I have seen air conditioned as there is no need for AC.
>
> It is very hard to get money transferred to Costa Rica…
>
> Lots of people sit on benches in the park and talk…
>
> People are very curious about Americanos…
>
> It takes awhile to get used to exerting yourself when you are thousands of feet above sea level…
>
> There is a volcano nearby and my brother told my mother he only has one word to say about it>>>POMPEI…
>
> The volcano is downwind from me.
>
>
> If I am thirsty in the jungle I can drink from a coconut which are all over and the juice is delicious…
>
> When the electricity goes out in the country it is so dark that when you look outside all you can see is the black panther running right at you, except it’s just your 6 year old imagination…
>
> Don’t buy wine in a box called grosso because its grosso…

> All inn all I like it here…
>
> I am chilling and learning to appreciate the smaller things in life…
>
> Martin
>
>
>
>
>

6 thoughts on “Random observations…

  1. Martin old buddy, If I read about a volcanic eruption in central Costa Rica, I will be sure to send out a search party to find your crispy remains.

  2. YEA!  Re constipation- India, too.  eat l ots of fruit, cut down on white products bread, crackers, eat  lots of cooked veggies, cut down on meat.  Finally, parasites are in everything.  I guarantee it.  They produce severe constipation or diahrea.  All raw foods salads, fruits, water, fresh juices squeezed in the market place are loaded.  Wash everything well like with a parasite killer like Iodine. You can get yourself an ongoing treatment to take like good Black Walnut to keep yourself ahead of the game.  Truly the key to staying healthy in the 3rd world is to poop everyday.  Raw garlic works wonders, too.

    Sorry to sound so bossy but these were key lessons I learned after being in the 3rd world on 3 different living situations.  Finallly got acclimated but lost 40# before I figured it all out.  Coconut water is rich in electrolytes which is perfect in the heat.

    OK- LOVE the blog.  Fun!  I recognize so many of your observations from my own experience.  Its like taking a vicarious vacation.

    Met the new DON yesterday.  Nice.  Seems a bit timid.  But who knows?  Still trying to rope people into working nites & everyone is burned out & looking for other jobs.  You’re not missing a thing.  Cheryl worked a triple on weekend.  Debbie has been averaging 72hrs a week.  I am NOT a workaholic & recognized the American slavery system to the $ & “things” a long time ago.  Thank God!

    Be well.  Continue with those good stories.

    LUV & LIGHT

    Carroll

    • Thanks Carroll for the info and an update. I am going to do a liver cleanse for health as well as colonic therapy.I am eating fruit most mornings and veggies like a tomato and an avocado for lucnh with a reasonable dinner.I have an addiction to crackers which I feel wheat is probably bad for me and constipates me especially the spongy pizza I had here for a few days in a row is what did it.I am doing fibre and will buy some blak walnut now that you reminded me about parasites.If the new DON is timid thats not a good sign at a place where you have to be fairly brave just to be in the milieu. She first needs to hire people like yesterday it sounds like. I am glad I am nt missing anything. I am working on making mooney with a company online advertisig for them.If it works out I will be free completely free to travel the world endlessly because I will have an income. .Say hi to everyone for me. Adios

Leave a Reply

